Hopeful Suffering
HOPE IN HARD TIMES
#9: THE POWER OF GIVING THANKS
0:00
-38:00

#9: THE POWER OF GIVING THANKS

The single most important thing for transforming suffering

One of the most transformative things for me in my journey of suffering was learning to give thanks FOR the difficult things in my life. Not “in spite of” but “FOR,” as in: “Thank you, Father for this pain. Thank you for our current financial difficulties. Thank you for our car troubles,” and so on.

This was so difficult for me to do. And yet, when I finally did it, gritting my teeth, saying as an act of will, it began to change everything for me. If there is one episode I want EVERYONE to hear, it is this one. I hope and pray that you, too, can experience the transforming power of giving thanks to God for absolutely everything in your life, even the things that you might not want to thank him for, the things you think of as bad.

We’re behind schedule in releasing these episodes, but we really appreciate your patience. If you’ve listened at all, I’m sure you can understand why it takes a little time for me to edit these, and release them into the world. I think we are up and running on the Substack platform now, at

It’s pretty easy to make comments, and interact from there. Thanks again for joining us!

0 Comments
Hopeful Suffering
HOPE IN HARD TIMES
Coming to terms with suffering through faith and grace Support this podcast: <a href="https://anchor.fm/tom-hilpert7/support" rel="payment">https://anchor.fm/tom-hilpert7/support</a>